Latest news

May 3, 2016
Category: General
Posted by: HeijnAngel77

It is our pleasure to announce our EACME Professor Paul Schotsmans prize winners for the annual conference 2016 in Leuven.

Anna Genske (Ceres, Cologne Center for Ethics, Rights, Economics, and Social Sciences of Health) will be awarded with the “Paul Schotsmans prize” of 500 Eurosto her scientific contribution ‘“Prescription of Drugs: Yes, Dialysis: Maybe, Heart Surgery: No? Decision-Making Capacity and the Notion of Relativity in Dementia Patients - A Comparative Analysis in Medical Ethics and Law”.

Marcello Ienca (Institute for Biomedical Ethics Basel) will receive a “second” prize, as both abstracts were quite close in our Daily Board selection, for his scientific contribution “Proactive Ethics for Empowering Technology: Critical Issues in Technological Innovation for Dementia Care”.

Congratulations winning these EACME Professor Paul Schotsmans prizes!

Emeritus Professor and Past EACME President Paul Schotsmans will present these EACME Professor Paul Schotsmans prizes together with our President Professor Ruud ter Meulen during the Leuven conference on Thursday, 8 September 2016 at 16.45 hrs: Promotion Room in the University Hall

We hope to see you all in Leuven!

For more information about the conference please visit the

Conference 2015

EACME ANNUAL CONFERENCE  8 – 10 September, 2016 Leuven,Belgium
30 Years of European Bioethics

For more information: